Take me to church

As another day pases where my sorry arse doesn’t do enough revision, I find myself on tumblr scrolling until I literally lose the previous meaning of my life. Now as pathetic as this sounds, tumblr isn’t actually frying my brain but opening me up to things I would never previously know

If pictures are the heart and soul of tumblr, then music is the brain – audio tracks pop up seemingly out of nowhere and make you think about how one song could possibly explain your life as much as that one just did

Ok, I need to stop rambling. As you may have guessed by the title of this post, today’s music blog is going to based on Hozier!

Hozier_album

Released in 2013 (before you question the lateness of this, read the whole post) and going to #2 on the Billboard 100 in Dec 2014, Take Me to Church was a hit-single. Its the type of song you feel in your whole body and as soon as you manage to make out all the lyrics – which may take a while, you sing along with as much power from your lungs as possible.

Now, back to tumblr, about a week ago I found this http://bit.ly/1BD18MZ and absolutely fell in love. As amazing as the original song is, this haunting melody is enhanced by the changing of gender. I listened to this on repeat for about 5 hours and I suggest you all do the same.

I’d of course heard the original on the radio well before I found this life changing post, but never thought to explore the artist and listen to Hozier’s self-titled album. Upon doing so realised that ‘Take Me to Church’ was undoubtedly the best choice for a single. The rest of the amazing album doesn’t showcase songs as powerful as the leading track, but is still beautiful.

My personal favourites being ‘Jackie and Wilson’, followed by ‘Cherry Wine – Live’. Two amazing tracks; each entirely different from the each other, yet I can still imagine them both contributing to the aforementioned soundtrack to my life

This is less of a review and more me rambling about my favourite new discoveries but all I can say is, if youre enjoying it (or at least not offing yourself), please have faith that these will get better

Leave a Reply

